Harrier's Celebration & Awards Night

The annual celebration & Awards night which is a chance for the whole club to celebrate the previous year’s track & Field, Cross Country & Road running, took place for the Harriers in a new location at the Kettering conference centre and was a huge success with over 200 people attending.

The night which included formal presentations of trophies to the athletes & various KTH branded clothing & wine to the volunteers & coaches, included a buffet and a disco so everyone enjoyed themselves, and there was a terrific atmosphere.

The compare duties were excellently handled by Harrier, Peter Goringe, and in a highly personal touch each coach was asked to present the trophies to their individual athletes which certainly added to the occasion. Matt Brown presented the main awards of the night and to all the club volunteers without whom the club could not function and in a role reversal athletes were asked to present a gift to their individual coaches which were a wonderful moment.

The main awards of the evening the Male & Female athlete of the year saw two of the Harriers brightest youngsters scoop the prestigious award. U13 Dylan Bowley was voted Male athlete of the year courtesy of his wonderfully consistent XC season & in particular his phenomenal track season which saw his break club records on 5 occasions for 800/ 1500m & run 12 grade 1 times throughout the season. U15 Emily Williams was voted female athlete of the year in a season which saw her achieve great success over XC and reach the 800m English Schools final where she set a new club record, and go on to win the midland counties 1500m title.

Female Athlete of the Year - Emily Williams receives her Trophy & Framed Certificate

Male Athlete of the year - Dylan Bowley receives his Trophy & Framed Certificate

Runners up for both of the main Athlete of the Year awards were U20 Jack Hope & U17 Jake Trent both of whom were multiple county champions & who had achieved great success both on XC & Track, who both received a framed certificate. U17 Ella Palmer, who enjoyed a fine XC debut season & competed at English Schools in the 800m in her first full season in the Middle Distance Squad, & U15 Sprinter Erin Healy who had a superb season winning county & regional medals, both received the female runner up certificates.

A number of the up and coming athletes were given special commendations in recognition of the significant progress they had made and the high level of completion for the club over the past year. All athletes who broke club records and the National U20 women 4x400m champions were also presented a framed certificate.

This was a hugely successful and memorable night and a massive thank you to all the volunteers who helped to organise the event, in particular Chairman Matt Brown who led the team, and put in a massive amount hard work.

A list of the main awards were:

Male Athlete of the Year – Dylan Bowley
Female athlete of the year – Emily Williams

Club Record breakers 2015
Special Commendation award winners

Most outstanding XC performance – Josh Cara
Most outstanding track performance – Emily Williams
Most improved Male/ Female – Dylan Bowley & Ella Palmer
Dick Calpis Sprint award – Erin Healy
Neville Marshall Endurance award – Jack Hope
Outstanding sprint performance Male/ Female – Jed Hayes (400m) & Erin Healy
KTH Chairman award – Ella Palmer
Presidents Merit Award – Shane Smith
Coach of the Year – John Cairns

All the Club Record Holders show their Framed Certificates

Athletes received their Special Commendations


A full list of all the winners can be found here: userfiles//Copy of Copy of Copy of KTH Award running order 2015.xls