Harriers Scoop Kettering Sports Awards!

The Award winners Kettering Town Harriers continues their success of recent years by picking up two awards at the Kettering Sports Awards, held at Wicksteed park. For the second year running members of the Middle Distance Squad scooped the “Team of the Year” award with the superb U20 Women’s 4x400m relay squad who remained unbeaten all year, breaking their existing club record a further two times, and culminating in them winning the National 4x400m U20 Women’s championship in August.

Coach Shane Smith said “this is a fantastic achievement for the squad, and motivates all of the athletes to try and emulate the success enjoyed over the past two years in particular” he added “I’m very proud to be involved with such a dedicated bunch of athletes who appreciate that success is all down to hard work”

Four members of the squad were in attendance, Lead leg Ella Palmer, Hannah Winstone & Claudia Nevett, all members of the championship winning squad & Beth Gordon. Fran Ashworth, Jess Gordon & Abigail Coleman were unable to attend as they are away at University.

U20 W 4x400m squad Ella Palmer, Hannah Winstone, Beth Gordon, Claudia Nevett

The other winner on the night was KTH Chairman, Matt Brown who scooped the “Volunteer of the Year” award, Matt has been instrumental in taking the club forward following the resignation of the previous committee a year ago, and he has made significant changes to the friendly atmosphere within the club, the organisation of key club volunteers, and most significantly the securing of funding for floodlighting at the track, due for completing in March 2016.

Matt led discussions with England Athletics, Sport England & Kettering Borough Council to secure the funding which is a key milestone in the clubs history.

Matt Brown Volunteer of the year winner

Both the U20 Women’s 4x400m squad & Matt Brown have both been shortlisted for the prestigious Northamptonshire Sports Awards on 12th November and we wish then very best of luck.

Some of the Club’s other outstanding young athletes were also nominated for awards, U13 Dylan Bowley nominated for young sportsman of the year, & U15 Erin Healy and Emily Williams both nominated for young sportswomen of the year had to settle for runners up awards.

Well done for Matt & The 4x400m Squad, and all the nominees who bring huge credit to the club.