Josh Grabs Virgin Mini Marathon slot!

Josh Cara continued his great form today with a superb race over 3 miles in the East Midland trials for the Virgin Mini Marathon held at the Leicester County Hall to finish 5th in a ultra high quality field which featured the likes of Ben Dijkstra, Isaac Akers, Hugo Milner & Alfie Thompson, who along with Josh will all represent an East Midland team which will almost certainly dominate the race held on the last 3 miles of the London Marathon course on Sunday April 25th.

Josh was always in contention on the 3 one mile loops held in the surroundings on Leicester County Hall, and on the start of the third and final lap Josh made a determined effort to ensure he had a gap between himself and the rest of the high quality field. First 6 finishers qualify, so Josh made no mistake when he pulled ahead of Charnwood's George Burnett in the closing 200m to secure his slot.

Josh Cara fine run to finish in 5th place

Also competing and trying to secure selection for the second year running was U17 Claudia Nevett who is just on the way back from a 10 week injury and still short of race fitness. Claudia made a steady start and was in 12th place on the opening lap, but spurred on by local rivals from R&N (Kirsty Goddard, Lilly Carmichael & Emma Bond) ahead of her, she slowly reeled them into sight by the second lap, and surged ahead of them on lap 3. Claudia who was one of the strongest finishers, really needed a longer distance to catch the front runners but she can take heart from only her second race this year where she eventurly had to settle for 8th place.

Claudia Nevett solid second race since returning from injury

It was quality running from two of the Harriers most consistent road runners.

The Virgin Money Giving Mini London Marathon is the official British Athletics three-mile road championships for young athletes aged between 11 and 17.

The course is three miles long, stretching from London's Old Billingsgate to The Mall. The event is open to entrants from the nine regions of England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and will include teams from all 33 London Boroughs.