National Primary schools XC Championship

There were some terrific performances from the small contingent of Harriers at the National Primary schools cross country championships, held in the grounds of Prestwold Hall in Loughborough, with Ernie Jackson leading the way with a fine top 10 finish, and Alfie Frayne & Harriett Round both with highly respectable top 30 placings.

On a beautifully warm, but blustery spring day the event which attracts competitors all over the country, gives yr5 to yr7 athletes a chance to run in a National championship, and the event was streamed live by Vinco.

Yr5 Ernie Jackson enjoyed the best result of the day from the Harriers with a superb performance to finish in 8th place despite him being at the back of the pen at the start, and he worked his way through the field superbly over the 2km course with a terrific run, helping the county team to a strong 5th placing in a race which was won by Northants Arthur Tilt.

Ernie Jackson superb race to finish 8th in the yr5 race

Other notable performances on the day saw Yr6 Harriett Round justify her late entry into the Northants team following a return from injury, top scoring for the Northants team with a great run to finish in 26th place to finish her short XC season on a high. KTH’s Lauren Hewitt also enjoyed a fine run despite tripping over some displaced fence posts during the race to finish 4th Northants scorer in 58th place out of the 238 strong field, helping the Northants team to a high credible 6th place.

In the boys yr6 race Alfie Frayne also produced a quality performance to finish in 28th place, 2nd Northants scorer, with Lucas Rogers supporting well in 40th place helping the team to an 8th place finish. Theo Crick also ran a solid race to finish in 164th out of the 248 strong field.

The only other Harrier in action was yr7 Ben Brooker who finished in a solid 118th position from the 153 competitors.

It was a great experience for the younger age groups and will no doubt spur many of them on over the coming years, well done to everyone who competed.