Night of the 5000m

The first ever Kettering event dedicated to track 5000m races, the “Night of 5000m” open meeting was a magnificent success with 57 entries’ split into 3 different races based on time. The event was slightly different to a normal track meet with inspiring music to accompany the races, and spectators in close to the action to support the athletes & this was a terrific opportunity for the younger athletes to try out a track 5k & for some of the road runners to give track competition a try.

Kettering Harries gave a terrific account of themselves with a number of impressive PB performances, which was especially encouraging with the blustery conditions.

Top performance on the night was a superb 8 PB from Edward Cannell finishing in 16:48 in the A race in 11th place overall, with the women’s top placing going to Middle Distance squad colleague, Krisztina Kurutcz in the C race in 22:16 finishing in 10th place overall, with debutants at 5k track running Sophie Moss & Jennifer Robin recording respectable times of 22:25 (12th place) & 24:41 (20th) respectively. There were also new PB’s set for Graham Pratt 21:36, Rob Britten 23:13, Chrissi Stewart 23:28, Jackie King 24:31.

Edward Cannell (406) first Harrier home in a fine new PB of 16:48

Other notable performances in the A race which was won in 15:42 by Wotton RR Michael Aldridge was a brace of Harriers all setting new PB’s Matt Fowler finishing in 14th place in 17:08, Phil West 18th in 17:53, Steve Green 19th in 18:07 & Ady King 20th in 18:35.

In the B race there were some fine performances from the MD squad with three Harriers all setting new PB’s, Josh cannel first home in a fine 18:01 for 2nd place, Morgan Potter in 4th (18:10) & jack Watson 5th (18:35) all enjoying the experience. There were also good performances from Ross Brown 7th in 18:36, Andrew Clawson 10th 19:13 and Stephen Oliver 13th in 19:42.

An excellent evening of long distance track running, and an event that the Harriers will look to add as annual fixture going forward, well done to everyone who competed.