“Team Williams” success at Kett Sports Awards

It was a fantastic night for KTH at the annual Kettering Sports Awards with two success on the night with Emily Williams winning the “Rising Star” award and her coach Shane Smith also scooping the “Coach of the Year” award to show that “Team Williams” is going from strength to strength. The club were nominated for a total of 9 awards including community club of the year.

Shane Smith (Coach of the Year) & Emily Williams (Rising Star) winners at the Kettering Sports Awards

Emily Williams has enjoyed her most successful track season ever becoming the undisputed UK No1 U17 athlete over 1500m, winning a magnificent Silver medal at the European U18 Championships in Gyor Hungary, also winning English Schools Championship and winning the British & Irish International all over 1500m and she is also UK No1 over 1500m & UK No2 over 800m (European ranked 3rd 1500m & 5th 800m). This was her third individual win in succession, and she has also won the prestigious Arthur Nicholson Trophy twice.

Coach Shane Smith who has helped guide Emily since joining the club in 2012 also secured his third coach of the year award and puts down the success of Emily and the wider middle distance squad down to hard work “It’s fantastic to be recognised with an award but this is all down largely to the fantastic athletes within the squad and their work ethic, I am constantly amazed at how keen they are to train up to 6 times a week all year, all weather”. He added “The success that Emily has seen on the International stage is richly deserved, she has dominated her age group this season, particularly over 1500m, and is down to a combination of talent, hard work, and a challenging training plan within a squad environment”.

It was a super night for the club with many parents & supporters in attendance, and the club now looks forward to its own Awards night coming up on the 16th November.

U17W 4x100m relay squd nominated for team of the year

Olivia Knibb & Josh Clutton both nominated for young leader of the year

Congratulations to Emily & Shane and for all the other club nominees.

The other nominees included:
Katie Gibson – Young Sportswoman
Fynn Batkin – Young Sportsman
KTH U17W 4x100m squad – Team of the year
KTH Middle distance squad – Team of the year
Olivia Knibb – Young leader
Josh Clutton – Young Leader
KTH - Community club of the year