Harriers win at Northants Sports Awards!

Kettering Town Harriers continued their awarding winning 2015 by scooping two more Awards at the Northamptonshire Sports Awards last night, with wins in the Community Team of the Year for the U20 Women's 4x400m relay squad, and Volunteer of the year for KTH Chairman Matt Brown.

Both the U20 relay squad and Matt were previous winners in the Kettering Borough Sports Awards as "Team of the Year" & "Volunteer of the Year" respectively in October, so this is fantastic news.

The U20 Women's 4x400m relay squad remain unbeaten in all competitions in 2015 (Including sports awards!) setting a new club record on 2 occasions, and Winning the National 4x400m relay Championships in August. The extended squad consists of Ella Palmer, Abigail Coleman, Jess Gordon, Francesca Ashworth, Claudia Nevett & Hannah Winstone. Coach Shane Smith said “This is a fantastic achievement, and is testament to the hard work and dedication they all put in during training, all year round, all weather” the highly talented squad, all from the middle distance group, have remained unbeaten in all competition and are all looking forward to continuing this success on track in 2016”

Matt Brown since taking over as KTH Chairman less than a year ago has been instrumental in driving significant change within the club, and has continued with his development working to become a full coach, and a chief timekeeper, and of particular note he has successfully negotiated with UKA/ Sport England/ Kettering Borough Council to secure funding with a grant to fit new flood lighting at the KTH track, which will be a milestone for the club.

Congratulations to the 4x400m squad, and to Matt on their success, which reflects very positively on the club, and we now move forward to our own Celebration & Awards evening on 21st November which should be a fantastic night to celebrate all areas of the club who have either enjoyed success, enjoyed being part of a friendly cub or who have helped other to achieve success.....Don't forget your Tickets, on sale in the club house!

4 of the U20 Womens 4x400m relay squad:

Beth Gordon, Ella Palmer, Hannah Winstone, Claudia Nevett.

Matt Brown Volunteer of the year collects his award.